Click here to register now!!
Tim Orrell celebrates Woodlands' sixth championship win in his last game for the club.
Picture: © Mike Baker JCT600 Bradford League

cricket club & SPORTS HALL
Woodlands CC

A club legend

Tim Orrell

Tim Orrell was a natural captain as he drove his side on in the field often fielding inches from the bat. Orrell, born in Prestwich played Lancashire League cricket before being snapped up by Saltaire in 1992. 

His cricketing career took off in 1986, when he played in an Oxford and Cambridge Festival tournament, for a Lancashire side which ran out ten-wicket winners. He debuted in Second XI cricket in 1989, and played two matches in the Benson and Hedges Cup competition of 1990 for Combined Universities. 

Lancashire got to the semi-finals of the Second XI Trophy competition of 1990, following which he was noticed by the first team selectors and, during June 1991, was given his first and only first-class appearance, for Lancashire against Oxford University. Orrell scored 21 runs during the game, and continued to represent the Second XI until the end of the 1991 season.

Orrell established himself as a leading Bradford League batsman with Saltaire before he was persuaded to join Woodlands in 1998 while they were making their mark in the Central Yorkshire League. He spent six seasons at Saltaire often winning matches for his side with his particular brand of aggressive play. He preferred the pace bowlers, especially if they pitched it short, as he so often proved that there was no finer puller of the ball in the league. He ended his Bradford League career at Undercliffe in 2013 with a career record of 10,558 runs at 29.91.

Orrell was the catalyst of ambitious plans to take Woodlands to the very top of league cricket in Yorkshire. He established Woodlands as a competitive Central Yorkshire League team before instigating a rapid rise in the Bradford League which would see them match the achievements of Pudsey Congs.

Honours Won Under the Leadership of Tim Orrell
Bradford League Division Two Champions: 2001 
Bradford League Division One: 2005 : 2006 : 2007 : 2008
Heavy Woollen Cup Final: 2004
Priestley Cup Final: 2006
Yorkshire Champions Trophy: 2006 : 200